Skip To Main Content

IB Diploma Requirements

Don't want the full IB diploma?

Any student who decides not to pursue the full diploma program is eligible for an IB Certificate in any of the individual subject area courses.

Students must complete the required internal and external assessments and receive at least a 4 or above on the exam(s).

Earning the IB Diploma

  1. Earn at Least 24 points.
    • IB Grades are 1-7. Each subject exam can earn 1-7 points.
    • An Additional 3 points can be earned from the combined scores of TOK and the Extended Essay (EE).
  2. Complete CAS and the EE.


  1. Enroll in 6 IB courses.

    • Enroll in 3 High Level (HL) courses, but no more than 4.
    • Take at least 1 Standard Level (SL) course over two years.
    • HL courses are 2 years long, SL courses vary between 1 or 2 years.
    • Note: Full IB Diploma students may not count any IB course taken prior to their junior year.
  2. Sit for 6 IB exams.

    • No more than 2 SL exams may be taken Junior year; all HL exams may only be taken Senior year.
    • The total cost for 6 exams will be about $750.00.
    • Students on Free/Reduced may have fees waived.
  3. Complete the TOK course.

    • The course is taken second semester Junior year and first semester Senior year.
  4. Complete CAS (Creativity, Activity, Service)

    • You may begin the CAS activities at the beginning of your junior year.
    • Activities must be completed by March of your Senior year. (approx. 150 hrs.)
  5. Complete a 4,000-word Extended Essay (Research Paper) on any subject and/or topic of your choosing.

    • The EE requirements will be introduced to you the end of Sem 1 Junior year.
    • You will select a supervising teacher to help mentor your progress.
    • The EE is due in November of your Senior year.

Failing Conditions

  • CAS requirements have not been met.
  • Candidate’s total points are fewer than 24.
  • An N has been given for theory of knowledge (TOK), extended essay (EE) or for a contributing subject.
  • A grade E has been awarded for one or both of theory of knowledge and the extended essay.
  • There is a grade 1 awarded in a subject/level.
  • Grade 2 has been awarded three or more times - High Level (HL) or Standard Level (SL).
  • Grade 3 or below has been awarded four or more times (HL or SL).
  • Candidate has gained fewer than 12 points on HL subjects (for candidates who register for four HL subjects, the three highest grades count).
  • Candidate has gained fewer than 9 points on SL subjects (candidates who register for two SL subjects must gain at least 5 points at SL).